The Dog Children of San Francisco

Brett Whiteley did the great dog pisses of Paris.  I realised sitting atop an open bus full of tourists that I was not seeing what they were.  Their cameras were poised at city highlights, landmarks but the fascination for me was in the amount of dogs, dedicated dog spaces and the accessorising of doggies.  I expected to return from the US full of inspiration and gusto to keep painting.  Instead I did these quick small watercolour studies.  I don’t know if they’re anything more than that -whether I will turn them inot paintings, maybe larger drawings with gouache or maybe just a recollection of that city at that point in time.  They don’t need to have a Golden Gate behind them, or a wharf full of seals in the distance.  I love doggies maybe that’s it.

3 thoughts on “The Dog Children of San Francisco

    • Maybe you were one of them? I loved San Francisco I only wished I could have spent more time north of the bridge, I loved Muir woods and cackled like a young kid when I saw chipmunks running around trees! Loved the De Young.Cheers

      • I just found this reply and just rediscovered your blog. Glad I did. Your blog is super interesting. I produced an artist book edition about our dog but I didn’t like the printing job. – my fault.

Leave a Reply

