Gaps in Planks, Gaps in Memories -Windang Series

Living at the boatshed was every kids dream. Canoes, rowboats and cubbies.  For me it’s the gaps in the planks.  Gaps of the planks on the jetty, the gaps in the planks dividing Dad’s workshop and the cubby.  Later when completing works about the boardwalks at Huskisson I realised the gaps were also in my memories of that time.  I began by drawing what I could remember and what I wanted to remember.

My first drawing of the Dollies and Gonks was an indication of something more when I emphasised “the gap” in red and later in Legs like a Thouroghbred Racehorse I had remembered running behind my father -looking through the gaps of his legs at Windang Island in the distance. That run-walk we took every morning to watch the tides. We loved the water, we loved the lake.

I began a sketch book for my memories of that time when The Boatshed demolition began. Too little too late, I wished I had known I was an artist sooner I would have loved to have swung my legs from that jetty with my sketchbook in hand.

5 thoughts on “Gaps in Planks, Gaps in Memories -Windang Series

  1. Pingback: Legs like a thouroghbred racehorse | Paint later, a painter's blog.

  2. Pingback: Re-surfacing to Postcode 2528 | Paint later, a painter's blog.

  3. Pingback: Secrets in My Garden | Paint later, a painter's blog.

  4. Pingback: My Turtle Ran Away to the Carnival | Paint later, a painter's blog.

Leave a Reply

