Anything but Ordinary.

I first noticed Kathryn Orton’s work in a group exhibition of printmakers. The view was of a familiar place to me, as a young runaway holed up in a toilet block making decisions about going home. More than 30 years later the print I saw brought that memory to the fore, once again I was at the crossroads -to go home? I had no home so it was quite ironic that I bought that print knowing I had nowhere at the time to hang it.

Happily, I now have the print hanging from a picture rail in a very old home where I live, the sort of home that Kathryn Orton draws. Listening to her talk today of the love of her drawing and her love of the home as a subject, I was quite envious. I was envious as I don’t feel that comfort in painting the landscape. Perhaps I need to treat my landscape as my home, be comfortable in it.

Leave a Reply

