Fresh Paint & Well Hung Brushes

Being in an artists studio is akin to looking into the mind of a serial killer. You can see where they are coming from, what drives them. Some are erratic, others orderly. A recent trip to Idris Murphy’s studio meant we could understand the paring back, the essence of composition. I always feel somewhat of a voyeur when looking at other artists brushes – the length, the width, how they are cared for-hung or potted. I am always so careless with my brushes and I think this leads to a bitter case of brush envy.

No matter what I paint or where I paint, I always seem to be in chaos. My studios have always become a huge mess. Perhaps if I look at paring back my compositions, my paint, the studio will follow and I will have well hung brushes like Idris.

One thought on “Fresh Paint & Well Hung Brushes

  1. Pingback: Pricasso, Death & Taxes | Paint later, a painter's blog.

Leave a Reply

