Close to the Edge

Australian painter John Olsen appears pretty regularly on the spines of my bookshelf. In choosing a work, I flicked through a small book that would fit easily into my scanner. My other Olsen books are far more delicious in content but this work made me stop. The book is barely 15 x 15 cm but this work has an immensity. There is no size directly under this painting but later I was to discover the proportions as 168 cm x 213.5 cm. His monumental work, Sydney Sun at the NGA beckons and I stand there like a stunned sunbather in it’s yellowy warmth, head slightly tilted like fireworks watchers, mouth agape.

This work is  The Edge (2002) From John Olsen by Ken McGregor & Jenny Zimmer.

Leave a Reply

