I’m not a Hermit, only a hermit crab….

 

This image of Charles Blackman’s studio in Buderim Qld looks to be a great shell to retreat into. The majority of artists have ordinary lives, ordinary jobs and as Blackman says, we are not hermits but we do act like hermit crabs. The thoughts slowly creep over us like the sign of a rising tide and then we find that we have to bunker ourselves within the protection of a studio and weather the tide of creativity. This week in a new job I felt like I was among the fishes but I felt fortunate that I had a shell that could get me through the swells.

Leave a Reply

