No! He’s Not the Black Wiggle.

Robert Juniper was a great early influence. I think he taught me a lot about colour and relevance of spatial areas within a work.

In the early days I’d sketch my influences, make studies of their particular works and then turn those into my own compositions. The snap of Robert Juniper I chose first, then I pulled out a sketchbook at random. These sketches date 2002. It’s hard to believe it’s that long ago, I still feel I have such a way to go. It seems like yesterday -I use to play Artist Roulette – scan the library bookshelf until something twigged. Lesley the librarian had a love of art and an old MG so even though a small library it had a wonderful stock of art books, especially Australian art. I have her to thank for ordering in treasures from other libraries for me.

I remember a painting I did from this thumbnail – it was a tiny cropped area from one of Junipers works, I always had scribbly notes around it  -where to adjust, what colours. I think I’ve been neglecting this lately.

The shot of Robert Juniper is from one of my favourite books “Painters in the Australian Landscape” by Robert Walker. It was a book that I took out regularly -one in Lesley’s Library. I was lucky enough to pick one up in the Lifeline Book Fair -it was signed! It was destined to be mine! 

One thought on “No! He’s Not the Black Wiggle.

  1. Pingback: We All Like Robert Juniper… | Paint later, a painter's blog.

Leave a Reply

