Pelicans, their Beaks hold more than their Bellies Can

I worked in a touristy gallery for a short time and the average tourist loved paintings of pelicans. I can’t fathom their attraction, is it because of their huge beak? their huge frame? Maybe cause they waddle. Or their ridiculously huge feet that act like brakes at touchdown? I think it is because of their big eyes. They look almost cartoonish and happy. Yes, they definitely have happy eyes.

I got a call just after 7am, “There are pelicans en masse at Boonerah Pt! Get down there!” I knew there must be something out of the ordinary so I chucked in the equipment. binoculars, camera, sketchbook, pencils,pens and jumper. No breakfast not even coffee.


There were over 100 pelicans gathered on a small strip of sand.

It was very low tide, the sky was still morningly soft and a wisp of cloud still sitting low in front of Mt Keira in this distance. I scribbled out sketches and notes. Looked at fluffy, orange-beaked birds rummaging around the feet of pelicans. I have no idea what these birds were, some had yellow beaks and they were quite nuggety.

I even got some more sketches in for the cormorant boat and it was definitely worth missing that morning coffee, it was a great heart starter.

2 thoughts on “Pelicans, their Beaks hold more than their Bellies Can

  1. Thank you for sharing your sketchbook, your drawings are beautful. Love the words also. I saw some pelicans in Cancun and think you may be onto something about their ridiculously huge feet that act like brakes at touchdown.

  2. I used to swim with pelicans – oohh they have a large wingspan, I have drawings somewhere too of the guys. They would drop so fast hitting that water for a fish.. I’d get a little spooked that I woud be the subject of that long pointed beak!

Leave a Reply

