Wishin’ I Could See Whisson

I’m discovered and forgotten, discovered and forgotten and it will go on…..”

"Verbs"Ken Whisson’s painting used to be tucked around a corner near the lifts at the National Gallery in Canberra. I felt like grabbing it and giving it centre stage. Shaking it in front of people and saying “Look, look!” instead the NGA underwent massive reconstruction and in the jumble of works -it moved! Yes. Heide Gallery in Melbourne is having a whole Whisson show and unfortunately I can’t make it but I have the next best thing -the catalogue (no surprise Glenn Barkley has contributed to this wonderful book).

Ken Whisson Perugia 1990 Photo Clare BreitnerHis paint is fresh and lively, I’m wishin’ I could smell it.

Too many exhibitions, too big a world.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Wishin’ I Could See Whisson

Leave a Reply

