Sling-Shot Granny and Escaped Cockatoos

Black Red-Tailed Cockatoo

The baby bird sketchbook continues. I am slowly filling up this tiny book and the story of the daring escape of 2 red-tailed black cockatoos from Taronga Zoo in Sydney was just to tempting.

I hope they are safe and maybe if you check out my drawing of the cockatoo about to take flight you might recognize them and help them out.

My sketches are taken from a conglomeration of different old books that I have. Some are from memory and some are taken from recent travels to the Lewin exhibition where I fell in love once again with botanical drawings and paintings.

Collage and drawings

 

The colours of foliage were a particular influence from Lewin in these little works.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I can never resist an old bird book and these are 2 of my favourites. I can remember being in primary school and being a member of the John Gould League of Birdlovers.

My pre-occupation of birds perhaps comes from my somewhat scary grandmother who used to wield a slingshot and take out any fruit-eating birds in a single shot. Her protection of the quince trees was all-consuming.  Despite her loathing of fruit pinching feathered friends she did have a pet sea-gull that she named Biddy and could imitate the beautiful song of a Magpie. I was never sure if she was luring them for the wrong reasons as she also liked to partake of “wild” duck that she would hunt at the local lagoon.

Perhaps it’s this early generational bird decimation that has provoked my fascination for birds and my need to capture their vulnerability.

Meanwhile if you see those pair of red-tailed black cockatoos keep them safe from any sling-shot happy grannies.

3 thoughts on “Sling-Shot Granny and Escaped Cockatoos

Leave a Reply

