Paul Jenkins, painting like a crapshooter.

Why is it some artists just escape your attention.  I recently read a post about the death of Abstract Expressionist Painter Paul Jenkins. When I saw him throwing garbage cans of ink for printing I knew I had to see more.

So here are a few in case, like me, you missed him along the way.

 

 

I love his quote.

“I try to paint like a crapshooter throwing dice, utilizing past experience and my knowledge of the odds,” he said in 1964. “It’s a big gamble, and that’s why I love it.”

It sums it up, no need to say more. I think it’s about time I rolled the dice again.

Thanks to Beyond Print for once again grabbing my attention and letting us glimpse these artists in action.

2 thoughts on “Paul Jenkins, painting like a crapshooter.

Leave a Reply

