Don’t Stand in Front of the Painting

MOMA Stranger and Duchamp

I have seemingly collected some great photos trying to take snapshots of art works. Just as I press someone looms into the shot. At the time I usually just take another, I’m certainly not an avid photographer, it’s more for research on the painting that I was looking at. What I have found though is I really love these photos of strangers.

 

 

 

MCA Louise Hearman and Harry Who

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Biennale Sydney and Betty Bob-up

Guggenheim & Whosit Face

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More recently I’ve been trying to take the strangers on purpose. If you happen to read this and you are my stranger – thanks you’ve made my day.

MOMA Picasso and nancy no name

13 thoughts on “Don’t Stand in Front of the Painting

    • I think I’m a bit obsessive, I tend to keep everything thinking it will come in useful somehow. Obviously blogging has become a dumping ground for me. Cheers Sue

  1. I love these random encounters and have often spent more time drawing people in galleries than doing the research that I went for in the first place ! My friend and fellow Art Space Portsmouth memeber, Mike Bartlett makes paintings of people in galleries http://michaelbartlett.org.uk/ – check him out. Best wishes C !

    • Thanks Chris
      I just checked them out- they are great paintings,a wonderful artist. Like you I found that galleries were great places for life drawing, you can sketch them while they are standing still and you don’t attract attention because people think you’re copying artwork.

    • They’re great. Shockingly recognizable: The self-conscious stance, the fear of taking too much time with a piece of art, the slightly cowed walk-past. And why do museums look like that? My favorite one is an old mansion with the owner’s helter-skelter, possessions: Henry Mercer’s Fonthill Castle in Bucks County, PA. He built it, travelled, collected, furnished it, compiled cultural histories, and made tiles. Lived-in art; I guess if I can’t be an artist, I’d like to experience that.

      • That one sounds perfect. I love to look at other artists home studios and especially their bookshelves. It gives more insight sometimes than long-winded interviews.

  2. I just had a chance to take (surreptitious) photos of my beloved nephew,
    dancing along with Sharon Lockhart | Noa Eshkol & troupe–in front of the big screens they appeared on, at LACMA, making beautiful shapes with his body silhouetted against their glowing white frame. It was lovely & made me incredibly happy. In my old age I have begun to feel that I want to respond tangibly to what moves me—or has the potential to.

    • How beautiful! It will be a lovely momento of that experience. I too have taken sneaky snaps in museums and galleries, not so much the works but for the spaces -they make such interesting shapes.
      Great to see the creative gene hasn’t fallen far from the gardening tree too.
      Cheers Sue

Leave a Reply

