Why I Love Robert Hughes and Porridge

My favourite memory of Robert Hughes was him standing in front of the Art Gallery of NSW and pointing out the facade, adorned with famous artists names and within the walls were none of the works by any of these artists. His wonderful 70’s hair with fringe Veronica-Lake style flapping in his face. It’s this image I think of every time I approach the gallery.

 

 

He has been on my mind so frequently but not art-related. It’s the uncanny resemblance to the Uncle Toby boy on the ad. Perhaps it’s that fringe.

Maybe it’s the confidence in his subject. Maybe it’s just the porridge. So now, porridge and Robert Hughes will be intrinsically linked forever for me. RIP Mr Hughes, thank you.

7 thoughts on “Why I Love Robert Hughes and Porridge

  1. Maybe it’s the word comfort that combines your memories of Uncle Toby’s with Robert Hughes. I will now think of him whenever I step into the Art Gallery of NSW …

Leave a Reply

