J.R. Walker, The Elusive Platypus

Paint does the thinking. If you’re lucky something completely unexpected comes out. The making is the thinking….” *

Monotremes are rare – both of them found in Australia. The platypus frequents still parts in rivers. There is a little spot in Braidwood where we go and the platypus makes an appearance.  The old log where we sat and sketched had rotted since we were last there but as we approached the platypus took a dive and we caught a fleeting glimpse. It was midday, windy and noisy everything it shouldn’t be to spot platypus (or is platypussi?).

J.R Walker is a legendary Braidwood resident artist. As we came out of the bottleshop (a known haunt for artists – a bit like still rivers) J.R. was spotted on his bicycle and before we could gather our thoughts he was off. Peddling feverishly he ducked and dove out of sight. His saddle bags we could only guess were full of oily tubes of paint and inspiration and maybe merlot -it was on special.

This was a self-indulgent blog to show J.R. Walkers paintings. Something I have done before, here in Shaking Off The Sand & here  in Artist or Serial Killer. He, like the platypus is elusive and wonderful. A strange creature of talent and mystery and spotted from time to time in Braidwood.

*quote in article by Steve Lopes for Artist Profile 2009.

15 thoughts on “J.R. Walker, The Elusive Platypus

    • Thanks so much. I love that statement – “The making is the thinking” I think its a common thread of artists and writers where they mull over whats in their head and sometimes that’s the work.

  1. We used to have platypus – platypussi? – platapi? – in a damned up part of the creek that ran through our farm in Tasmania. I used to love to go watch them mill around at dusk. Funny little things. As always, I love your work.

    • How lucky to have them so close, they are unbelievable. It was the anticipation when you see the bubble action and you know that they’re are just below the surface. Tasmania is on the painting list so maybe I’ll catch them down there too. Thanks Penny.

      • You know it’s funny…I didn’t actually realize your name was Penny – although I must have seen it. My company is called Pennyroyal and people are always asking me if my name is really Penny. My daughter said I should change it.

  2. John r Walkers new website has just been launched : johnrwalker.com.au.
    I think you might enjoy it.

  3. HI Sue, my show of large works – never been shown together before – opens at Orange Regional Gallery on Saturday afternoon 15 March, followed by new works at Utopia Art Sydney on Saturday 22 March. Hope you can come and wishing you all the very best with your work.

    • Hi John,
      I’m very much looking forward to the works at Orange, it will be great to see them all together. I’m a little embarrassed – I’m not some crazy art-stalker -your work just tugs at the landscape strings for me.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      Cheers
      Sue

      • Hi Sue, here’s the link to the online catalogue for the Orange Regional Gallery exhibition: terroir big land pictures, opening Saturday 15 March to 27 April

        Many thanks John

Leave a Reply

