My Volume is Turned Down.

Yesterday I listened to Andrew Christofides talk about his work in an exhibition titled Square One at Wollongong City Gallery. I was envious of his quietness – both in painting and manner. He talked about his influences and his preference for the quiet artists – Kasmir Malevich, Vemeer and Titian.  Once again I was delivered one of those serendipitous moments.  This week my library books were one on Kasmir Malevich and another on Titian. Is the universe asking me to turn down my volume in painting?

At what point did Malevich and Mondrian leave all the rest out of their work, pare the objective down?  There was a small Ralph Balson work that Christofides had also made reference to. It was blocks of colour overlaid and simply beautiful.

I have always admired these painters and while the hard-edge abstractionists never quite fitted me, I have the temperament and touch of a red-haired gestural painter. I felt that perhaps I need to go back. Control the mark making even more. Turn down the volume.

Once again I know it won’t last, next month I’ll return to Canberra for a return visit of the abstract expressionists and I’ll want the volume full blast.

 

4 thoughts on “My Volume is Turned Down.

  1. I might get the chance to see the abstract expressionist exhibition again on the weekend. I’ll hopefully be in Canberra to pick up some paintings I’m having framed. I always try to get to the NGA when I’m there.

  2. Hi Sue

    This really resonates with me and my current health issues. My volume has definitely been turned down – I have been forced to pare down to essentials and thus I am able to focus more clearly on details. It has its rewards.

    I am hoping to get back to regular posts soon but the extended life of a blogger (interacting with others and showing appreciation for any support I might get) is stopping me. It is more work than the postings themselves!

    Hope you are well.

    Katherine

    • Oh Katherine, so glad you’re getting back but please take care of yourself…the world keeps spinning take time and get off, steady yourself and hop back on when you can, there’s no hurry. Cheers Sue

Leave a Reply

