Spanish Poets, Bacon, Whisson and Me

I still can’t make up my mind if it’s the hippy mentality of “It all has to mean somethin’ man” or there is a quantifiable reason behind it.

Today Anthony Bond, curator of International Art talked about the upcoming Francis Bacon exhibition. Once again a link pops up – this time by the way of Frederica Lorca poetry.

Less than a week ago I was flicking through a book of Lorca’s poetry laid on a table in the Ken Whisson AS IF show.

 

 

 

So here it is, an elegy for a Spanish Bullfighter.

At Five in the Afternoon

At five in the afternoon.
It was exactly five in the afternoon.
A boy brought the white sheet
at five in the afternoon.
A frail of lime ready prepared
at five in the afternoon.
The rest was death, and death alone
at five in the afternoon.

And so the path continues, it was Whiteley led me to Bacon, Bacon led me to Muybridge and no doubt that path will cross others and meander back to the start.
13 thoughts on “Spanish Poets, Bacon, Whisson and Me

    • Thank you. I painted the majority of these on photographic paper, another reference to Muybridge. I am painting each plate from his book so it is a long seemingly neverending process. Cheers Sue

  1. Bacon’s paintings are so powerful. When I stood in front of the painting “study of a baboon” in the NYMOMA, I cried. Not a sob, but one of those cries that starts as a painful welling in your chest and moves up your throat to become a slow welling of tears.

    • Oh I know what you mean! I walked into the room at NYMOMA and saw DeKooning and Pollock – a moment I had wanted for so long. The talk I went to discussed the baboon painting of Bacon’s that had you all blubbery. The beauty was in the very minimal use of paint to depict the animal but it was so blatant what it was, so emotive. Cant wait to see them all now.

    • Sometimes a few drawings to one plate if the shapes dictate. It’s an ongoing thing and it definitely has helped learning about abstract composition. Also good for abstracting figures within a landscape.

  2. Just lovely this casual grid of works and the post about how you arrived at these pieces. It is a comfort to read and know the thoughts of kindred spirits in the art life. It’s some kind of addiction, but when it’s going right, there’s nothing to replace it.

    • Definitely my pleasure, there are so many wonderful artists out there that need greater recognition. I’m glad they held it while he is still with us.

Leave a Reply

