Drawn Out

Tim Allen: Folded and Faulted Sediment III

Tim Allen: Folded and Faulted Sediment III

After the Bacon exhibition I went for a look at the Dobell Drawing Prize at the Art Gallery of NSW.  This is the last Dobell Drawing Prize after 20 years and I was pretty sad about that.  It struck me that Bacon had no sketchbooks displayed in the exhibition and I was then curious about his habits and it appears most of his work went straight onto the canvas. I’m currently reading David Hockney’s biography A Rakes Progress whose drawing is such an important foundation of his work.  I remember being in awe of a simple line in his drawing that went from black to red so easily and obviously. Beautiful.

Graham Fransella: Figure and a Bell

Graham Fransella: Figure and a Bell

I remember seeing the Dobell prize for the first time and my excitement of drawing that I continue to have. I remember being obsessive, taking the sketchbook in the bath to draw the taps, taking it fishing to draw while the line was dangling, always at the beach and having a sketchbook especially for train trips small with an orange cover so I knew the difference.

I still have a sketchbook with me at most times but I don’t have that obsession anymore. I don’t know where I lost it but wish it was back. I love that feeling being lost in a drawing, starting small getting past that uncomfortable niggling feeling and then being swap away in the marks.  I still use drawing within my painting and don’t think I could ever use just paint, the brush handle is too distant from my finger tips.

Lloyd Rees Sketchbooks in the Art Gallery of NSW Collection - photo from Australian Drawings AGNSW

Lloyd Rees Sketchbooks in the Art Gallery of NSW Collection – photo from Australian Drawings AGNSW

Kevin Connor: Pyrmont and the City 1993 the first Dobell Prize Winner

Kevin Connor: Pyrmont and the City 1993 the first Dobell Prize Winner

The last exhibition for the Dobell was like saying goodbye to some old favourites and familiar names associated with drawing. The prize will be replaced with a drawing biennale which sounds exciting but a long time between drinks.

11 thoughts on “Drawn Out

  1. You’ll get it back. Our talents never completely leave us. They just need to rest for a while.

    I especially like the drawing of the bell.

  2. Thanks for posting this : Tim Allen: Folded and Faulted Sediment III – it’s made me realise that I’m being timid with my latest drawing. I’m working from a photo that I took in the snow in Central Park NY. There’s an outcrop of rocks in the foreground and Allen’s are just perfect ! Cheers Sue – the drawing/sketching bug WILL return !

    • Hi Chris, this was my favourite this year just so strong and energetic. I’m yet to see Central Park in snow . I was there in spring – it’s on the bucket list. Maybe just post your drawing when you’re done. Cheers Sue.

      • Hi Sue – the photo of Central Park is from a good few years ago, when I took a large group of students there ! I got up early one morning and did a photo-shoot before breakfast ! I’ll post the drawing when I’ve finished it. Best wishes ! Chris

Leave a Reply

