Lost Dogs at Bondi SXS 2013

Red Centre: Carl Billingsley Photo: Clyde Yee

Red Centre: Carl Billingsley Photo: Clyde Yee

The pilgrimage to Bondi’s Sculpture by the Sea is a highlight of the year for me.  It’s not just the sculpture, it’s the surrounds and the people and of course the dogs.  For more than 10 years I’ve been taking snaps and for the last few years my painting pal Jane has allowed me to couch-surf close to Bondi so we can make repeat visits.  It always starts with a late afternoon – the first glimpse of that turquoise water on a usually hot afternoon at Bondi Beach and then we take in each sculpture along the rocky edge -looking out for whales off the coast, snapping photos and talking art.  By sunset we are usually at Tamarama Beach where the sculptures end.  From there we press on even further to beautiful Bronte for an al fresco dinner then returning home exhausted,  for wine, a de-brief and art DVD’s.

by Marielthomas

by Marielthomas

Stephen King's well deserved winning piece Fallout photo Clyde Yee

Stephen King’s well deserved winning piece Fallout photo Clyde Yee

 

 

 

 

 

And in the morning we start again for a whole day this time ending with beer and chips at Bondi.  This year I lost my camera after the first afternoon so all my snaps of Bondi dogs and late afternoon shots are gone. I did get some hit and miss photos on my camera phone so I at least have some but this year I was impressed by others so I’ve decided to share those.  I’ve come to realise there are so many wonderful photographs already out there. I especially love this one of Rex -perfectly positioned under Fritz’s work Dream.

Rex by myeyeinlofi

Rex by myeyeinlofi

Photos of Lucy Humphry’s and Matthew Hardings work have inspired us for next year to ease off on the wine Thursday night so we can catch sculptures at sunrise.   Mmm.. things we do for art! 

Elyssa, who I fondly remember as a sweet girl with a rat -now a fabulous sculptor. Photo Jarrad Seng

Elyssa, who I fondly remember as a sweet girl with a rat -now a fabulous sculptor.
Photo Jarrad Seng

Please visit Sculpture by the Sea site to see more wonderful images by better photographers than me.

My ordinary IPhone photo

My ordinary IPhone photo

Thank you Bert Flugelman a passionate sculptor, a great legacy Photo Clyde Yee

Thank you Bert Flugelman a passionate sculptor, a great legacy
Photo Clyde Yee

David McCracken photo by Clyde Yee

David McCracken photo by Clyde Yee

Matthew Harding The Cheshire's Grin tribute to Bert Flugelman Photo by Stephanie Burns

Matthew Harding The Cheshire’s Grin tribute to Bert Flugelman Photo by Stephanie Burns

by deegee88

by deegee88

by pieces_of_lu

by pieces_of_lu

9 thoughts on “Lost Dogs at Bondi SXS 2013

Leave a Reply

