The Ups and Downs of Drawing

IMG_4071A shag and a pig went to sea in a beautiful pea green boat lined, with red-lead”

Sometimes I feel very connected to where I live and other times I want to get the hell out.  A while back I saw a submission for sculpture installation at the lake.  The lake was my childhood home, the boatshed my happy days. Somehow I feel as an artist I have a deep connection and I sort of owe it to me and the lake to produce something worthwhile.  I have done plenty of research and have my own motifs that appear in paintings and drawings.  I didn’t do the submission – no time, no confidence, no excuse really. This week while driving to work I passed the sculpture that has been erected where I thought I should do something.  I was prepared for the worst. I’m really happy with it. I didn’t do it but someone put their hand up and it feels very right.

Ghost Trees

Ghost Trees

Drawing on stories from the community there is a strength of connection behind the work. I had my own plans and a work that really was about me more than the area, so I am glad there is a work that will tell lots of other stories.

Anyway the drawing is improving. Once again the cormorants surfaced, the boatshed and my struggle to get it out. I may not have built a huge black shaped wing on the foreshore but I feel at peace with a story in art there for others.

 

Meanwhile I am still drawing more stories from my childhood on the lake.

IMG_4060

IMG_4041

Torpedo the pig

Torpedo the pig

 

IMG_4049IMG_4054IMG_4039

2 thoughts on “The Ups and Downs of Drawing

  1. I’m glad to see that they did something sympathetic to the scene. But I do notice that they seem to have borrowed a few ideas from the sculpture outside the Sydney Museum, which also has shell filled columns. Oh well c’est la vie!

    • That’s interesting Leonie- I’ll have to check that out next time I’m up in Sydney. The columns also had stacked army blankets, shoes, broken cutlery etc. I don’t know what the connection is. I just hope they stay in one piece there. Cheers

Leave a Reply

